Where’s the Silver Lining in Turning 65?

My mother is the most inspiring person I know.  She’s always positive, encouraging and kind.  I’ve learned so many lessons from her that have gotten me through difficult times. She’s a hilarious story teller.  Here’s one of her cute stories:

“ㄅㄧ、ㄅㄧ、ㄅㄧ”,那是什麼聲音?原來是老年人免費車票卡的刷卡聲,到了65歲,拿到卡的親友們常會說:“三聲無奈” 、“我寧可沒有”、“唉,那表示我老了”….

那年我63歲,再兩年我就要拿老人卡了,我想,年齡增長,是自然現象,沒有一個人可以避免。當我拿到的時候,與其哀嘆ㄞㄊㄢˋ,不如轉個念,“ㄅㄧ、ㄅㄧ、ㄅㄧ”、“哈、哈、哈”、“好、開、心”、“免、費、票”….,還要感恩政府,鼓勵我們老年人出外走動,給我們這麼好的福利,說聲“謝、謝、謝”。

“Beep. Beep. Beep.”

What’s that noise? It’s the sound made by the Senior’s Bus Pass.  It beeps once for regular fare, twice for student fare and three times for seniors 65 and over, who travel on the Taipei City bus system for free.  Recent recipients of this benefit have complained: “The three beeps of hopelessness!” “I’d rather not qualify for this pass.” or “This means I’m getting old!”

The year I turned 63 (knowing that I was two years away from getting my own Senior’s Bus Pass), I thought to myself, “Aging is merely a natural phenomenon; no one can avoid it.” So the year I obtained my card… instead of lamenting, I thought “Why not find the silver lining?”  So my mantra became: “Beep. Beep. Beep.” “Ha. Ha. Ha.” “I. Am. Glad.” “This. Is. Free.”

You know, we should thank the government. This really encourages us older people to get out and about. It’s a fabulous benefit!  “Beep. Beep. Beep.” = “Thanks. Thanks. Thanks.”

Leave a Reply

