Finding Kung Fu

Growing up Chinese means that Kung Fu isn’t alien to me.  The Buddhist concepts are as close to what I would consider religious or spiritual guidance I can accept as anything I’ve ever experienced.

My children are a product of a mixed marriage and I have not been diligent about teaching them Chinese.  I have felt a lot of guilt over the past few years, having children that aren’t perfectly bilingual in English and Chinese, but my excuse is that I function best in English and I’m giving them the best me.  Since my mother once told me that a problem is not really a problem if money can fix it, I decided that I would try throwing money at the problem.  Google is my friend.  For whatever reason, the Shaolin Temple Quanfa Institute came up when I Googled “Mandarin children Toronto”.  I sat up with excitement about the thought of my boys fighting off bullies with moves from Bruce Lee, Jackie Chan, Jet Li, Michelle Yeoh or Sammo Hung.  Finding Mandarin classes will be my next project, I thought to myself.

At the time, the boys were reluctantly taking Taekwondo.  They never quite took to it and it was such a chore getting them to go to class every week.  I relished the thought of telling my parents that I was putting the kids in something so very Chinese in heritage.  I was delighted from day one: at their trial session, they rushed in with gusto and it has been such a chore getting them to go home after an hour and a half of their tough kung fu work out every since.

We found Kung Fu!

Leave a Reply

